Speaker and Panellist Profiles

Your 2023 Hosts

In a continuing partnership, Anelich Consulting and Food Focus invite you to join us as we explore the new challenges that face the food industry and regulators as we integrate COVID-19 into our protocols and move forward

Prof Lucia Anelich
Prof Anelich has a PhD in Microbiology and has over 40 years’ experience in food microbiology and food safety. She is the owner of her own successful food safety consulting and training business, Anelich Consulting, which offers a variety of services to the food sector.  Prior to starting her own business, she established and headed up the Food Safety Initiative at the Consumer Goods Council of South Africa, a first for the country.  Prior to that, she spent 25 years at Tshwane University of Technology where she was Head of Department and Associate Professor.  Most importantly, she is the only person in South Africa and Africa to be a member of the internationally-renowned expert group on food microbiology called the International Commission on the Microbiological Specifications for Foods (ICMSF).  She is Fellow of the International Academy of Food Science and Technology and was President of SAAFoST for 4 years until 2019.  She is Adjunct Professor in the Centre for Applied Food Security and –Biotechnology at the Central University of Technology and is an accomplished author and international speaker.   

Adele Krogh
As a Qualified Environmental Health Practitioner with more than 25 years experience in the industry, Adele has a practical approach to the industry. She has worked in the trenches of compliance management systems and is passionate about doing things the right way. Adele's has worked within public health, in the private sector in manufacturing, within a certification body as well as owning and running her own consulting business. She has developed food safety, occupational health and safety and quality management systems for a range of companies; and has audited, consulted and trained for the food industry at many different levels.

As co-founder of Food Focus in 2016, Adele has focused on educating and uplifting the food indsutry. She is a passionate people's person, and her speciality is food safety culture and working with management to set the direction for compliance in a sustainable and practical way.

Meet the Speakers

Lee Griessel

Dr. Marta H. Taniwaki

Frank Yiannas

Prof. Michelle Danyluk

Wandile Sihlobo

Prof. Lucia Anelich

Prof. Nigel French

Dr. Liliana Casal-Wardle

Dr. Sarah Cahill

Dr. Owen Paul Fraser

Meet the Panellists

Billy Malose Makhafola

Monique Visser

Janusz Luterek

Kelly-Jade Mulholland

Shane Rimmell

Dr. Elmé Coetzer-Boersma

Dr. Pat O'Mahony

Ilse Liedemann

Vinay Moodley

Dr. Dharmarai Naicker

Jasomay Pillay

Izaak Breitenbach

Johann Kotzé

Najib Salim

Cindy Jenks

Amanda McCarthy

Erica Sheward

Ruth Willis

Akhona Qengqe

Penny Campbell